//
you're reading...
For the Kids

Printable Paper Dolls


My daughter’s favorite app on my iPhone is a kind of digital paper doll. It’s called Adora Dear and it is probably the best 99 cents I’ve spent in the iTunes store. The interface is fabulous, the variations are pretty much unlimited, and the girl absolutely loves it.

But it got me thinking about the paper dolls of my youth– the ones that were actually made out of paper. They were probably exorbitantly priced but they made me so happy. Mom probably paid the price gratefully knowing full well that this particular activity was very quiet, calm, and would likely consume much of my afternoon.

It seems to me, though, that it’s been a long time since I’ve seen a paper doll book in stores. Until recently, at least, when the hubby pointed out one at our local craft store. It was a reasonable size, but the artwork was not up to my standard. And the price? Let’s just say I wasn’t going there.

The real price is apparently my ongoing fascination with finding a good one for my little one that won’t break the bank and will meet my standard. What is this standard?

  1. Good quality card stock.
    If it’s not going to last 5 minutes within earshot of my very hands-on son, it ain’t happening.
  2. Nice artwork.
    I’m shallow. I can deal with that. What I can’t deal with is obviously thrown together stuff. I want texture, depth, and effort, dangit.
  3. Variety of dressing options.
    Because one must have options. Really.
  4. Franchise avoidance. Maybe.
    I will not ever EVER be a fan of things like Brats and Barbie and the typical big names of girl toys. Unless there’s a Princess Leia doll out there, for which I would consider taking out a mortgage for if necessary.

In an ideal world I would have the wherewithal to sit down and make a custom Paper Doll which met all these criteria. We don’t live there (which is probably a mercy), so I’ve been scouring the internet trying to pin down some options. Here’s what I’ve come up with.

Generic, historical and just plain cute

Franchises I can tolerate

Environments

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Currently Reading:

A Storm Of Swords
George R. R. Martin
 
Because I like my medieval politics bawdy.

What’s in our earbuds?

Adventures in Your Own Backyard
Patrick Watson
 
Can never get enough of these guys. Never ever ever.
The Indie Chicks
