//
you're reading...
Books

Doggies by Sandra Boyton {readibles}


Doggies by Sandra BoyntonBooks are great things for many babies and children. I have wonderful greeting-card type memories of reading beautiful story books to my daughter as an infant. Even long ones. My son, on the other hand, is a different story altogether.

I can not imagine a child more disinterested in reading, and for an avid reader of a mother this is a tragic thing indeed. For a long time he would eat them just as soon as he would acknowledge them at all.

Over the last year, there has been only one or two books that he would tolerate. Thankfully this selection is beginning to improve as he closes in on his first birthday, but I think I can credit the gradually found appreciation of the medium to one book in particular: Doggies by Sandra Boynton. Really. This story book is like a gateway drug for book enjoyment. It was the first book he ever really responded to and showed any interest in whatsoever.

Wonderfully vivid and a joy to read, I caught my son reading it to himself the other day– barking as he flipped through the book’s pages with his chubby little fingers. Needless to say my heart melted.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Currently Reading:

A Storm Of Swords
George R. R. Martin
 
Because I like my medieval politics bawdy.

What’s in our earbuds?

Adventures in Your Own Backyard
Patrick Watson
 
Can never get enough of these guys. Never ever ever.
The Indie Chicks
