//
you're reading...
Food and Drink

Working Class Foodies are my kind of foodies


I love food as much as the next girl, but I find the requisite fiscal abandon that comes with true foodie practices to be entirely illogical. I can’t abide by a $20/plate brunch, nor do I want to battle the associated table waits with toddler and infant in tow just for the privilege of consuming said plate at the latest it-spot in parkdale (or wherever). I certainly can’t justify it when I am entirely convinced that I can have a much more enjoyable experience making something comparable at home for the whole family for half the cost of their single serving.

As a result, while I am happy to spend time with foodie friends, I find myself restraining the rant-a-saurus within as they continually recommend places with posh interiors, high price tags and (I’ll say it) mediochre food. As pretty as they look with that cilantro oil (really? cilantro oil? on fries?) on that sparse white plate, I just can’t help but roll my eyes. I love my friends. I just don’t love their restaurant picks. So shoot me.

And so I also love these guys:  Working Class Foodies.

I’d never heard of the Hungry Nation network until I was looking for some dirt-simple dessert ideas and stumbled across their Rebecca and Max’s  ‘beerimasu‘ recipe. If ever there was a foodie stance I could love, this is probably it.

I’m off to pillage their backlog. I would suggest you do the same.

Discussion

One thought on “Working Class Foodies are my kind of foodies

  1. ❤ thanks for the really sweet blog love! we're glad you found us!

    Posted by WCFRebecca | October 20, 2010, 11:21 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Currently Reading:

A Storm Of Swords
George R. R. Martin
 
Because I like my medieval politics bawdy.

What’s in our earbuds?

Adventures in Your Own Backyard
Patrick Watson
 
Can never get enough of these guys. Never ever ever.
The Indie Chicks
